Racing Legends BREMEN-Arredondo-Haines Make History At 50th Anniversary SCORE Baja 1000

LAKE ELSINORE, CA – December 13, 2017 – Fittingly enough a crew of legendary racers wrote their names into the history books by winning the 50th Anniversary of the SCORE Baja 1000. The No. 45x BREMEN-Arredondo-Haines Racing Honda CRF450x was first to leave the start in Ensenada and finished the gruelling 1134 mile course with an official time of 21:07:17 taking their third consecutive race win and clinching the 2017 SCORE motorcycle championship.

“We knew it was going to be a tough fight for us,” says the team’s rider of record Francisco Arredondo. “The 50th Anniversary of the Baja 1000 is special, so we really gave it our all to try and win. The goal has always been to win the championship, but to do it by taking the Baja 1000 is a dream come true!” Headed by Arredondo, a professional Grand Prix equestrian, businessman and global adventurer from Guatemala, and Hall of Fame mechanic/racer Chris Haines, the team was established six years ago specifically to win the SCORE title.

As if winning the 50th anniversary Baja 1000 wasn’t already enough, Francisco also won his second SCORE World Desert Championship Milestone Award for finishing each of 2057.97 required miles in the four round 2017 series.

“Mission accomplished,” says Shane Esposito, who has paired with Arredondo to win some of the toughest races in the world, including the Longest Race In America, Vegas To Reno. “This has been been a big commitment by everyone. It has been really serious for us as a team these past two years, so to finally win it has been a big relief!” Earlier this year Esposito accepted Francisco’s invitation to compete in his first ever rally in North Africa.

Joining the veterans Esposito and Arrendondo were AMA Hall of Famer, Supercross title holder, National Enduro champion and now 5-time Baja 1000 winner Ty Davis, ISDE gold medalist and 2-time Baja 500 winner Justin Morgan and 2-time Baja 1000 winner and 2-time SCORE champion Max Eddy, Jr. “We really assembled a dream team here,” jokes Haines. “However credit our entire crew for making the dream a reality.” As a 15-time Baja 1000 class winning rider in his own right, Haines has clearly translated that experience into a builder of elite racers and championship winning teams.

Lead technician is Jimmy Holley; Suspension: Bob Bell and Phil Valdez from Precision Concepts; Computer Tech Support: Steve Bourgeois; Helicopter Crew: Steve Wright (former Team Honda ATC champ and Baja 1000 winner) pilot, Matt Eddy Medic/Spotter and team logistics: Carrie Hancock. As always the many volunteers manning the remote pits are the unsung heroes of any desert racing victory.

“This championship is dedicated to our families and sponsors,” says Haines. “We can’t thank SCORE president Roger Norman and his organization, and the Mexican officials enough for keeping the SCORE Baja 1000 legacy going for 50 years! All of us from the BREMEN-Arredondo-Haines Racing team look forward to defending the SCORE 1x plate in 2018 and another 50 years of the Baja 1000.”

The BREMEN-Arredondo-Haines Racing Dream Team:

Francisco Arredondo, age 40

  • 10th year racing in Baja
  • 5 Class wins
  • Dakar & Rally Competitor
  • Professional Grand Prix Equestrian Competitor
  • Climbed Mt. Everest as well as other significant peaks around the world

Shane Esposito, age 43

  • 10th year racing in Baja
  • Class wins: Baja 500, Desert Challenge, Baja 1000, Vegas to Reno
  • Rally Competitor

Ty Davis, age 48

  • 5 Consecutive Baja 1000 wins, 1993-1996, 2017
  • 1990 AMA Supercross 125cc West Region Champion
  • AMA National Enduro Champion in 1995, 1999
  • AMA National Hare & Hound Champion, 1997, 1998, 2002

Justin Morgan, age 27

  • First SCORE Baja race: 2011 Baja 500, total SCORE Races: 20
  • 2011 AMA District 38 overall points champion
  • 2015, 2017 Baja 500 overall motorcycle wins
  • 2017 SCORE Tijuana Desert Challenge overall motorcycle win
  • 2017 ISDE Gold metal

Max Eddy, Jr, age 34

  • 2 time Baja 1000 Champion
  • 2 time Baja 500 Champion
  • 2 time San Felipe 250 Champion
  • 2 time SCORE Champion AMA National Hare n Hound Pro
  • 3 time AMA district 37 champion

ABOUT US: The BREMEN-Arredondo-Haines Racing Team was established 6 years ago with the intent to capture the SCORE championship. Headed by Francisco Arredondo, a professional Grand Prix equestrian from Guatemala, and Hall of Fame mechanic/racer Chris Haines, the team has a wealth of experience with nearly 30 Baja titles between them (Haines has 15 Baja 1000 class wins by himself). In 2001, Haines was awarded the prestigious “Amigo de Baja California” award by the Governor and Secretary of Tourism of Baja California. The honor reinforces Chris’ outstanding decades long relationship with the people and government of Mexico.

SPONSORS: BREMEN, Chris Haines Off-Road, Precision Concepts, IMS Products, Pro Circuit, ProGrip, Oakley, Baja Designs, BRP, Acerbis, Lucas Oil, Hinson Racing, Dunlop-Goodyear Tires, Works Connection, Zip-Ty Racing, SealSavers, Scott’s Performance, Asterisk, ZLT Designs, Just One Helmets, CryoHeat, ONeal USA